Skip to content

Slow Down

August 20, 2010

Snail

And in the sweetness of friendship let there be laughter and the sharing of pleasures. For in the dew of little things the heart finds its morning and is refreshed.
Kahlil Gibran, The Prophet

These days we’re all about speed & efficiency. High speed internet, more mpg, tv on demand, twitter accessibility anywhere; all so that we can keep moving and not have to slow down. I’m one of those people who always has to be doing something. It doesn’t matter where I am, I’m just wired for activity, oftentimes multiple activities at once. Which is one of the reasons Jacki is so perfect for me.

I catapult out of bed in the morning, my mind blazing with to-do items. Jacki lingers, enjoying the softness of the sheets & the coolness of the morning air. It’s one of the most frustrating &, yet, most lovely things about having her in my life. She slows me down. She helps me engage the moment.

Not that there’s anything wrong with being a driven, hard-working individual. But what do we spend so much of our life working for, if not to enjoy the fruit of our work? It’s not the grand scheme or laborious accomplishment that truly give our life meaning, but the journey getting there. It’s the details, the little moments, that make up the story of our lives. If you don’t take the time to slow down and savor them, then you are losing your life bit by bit.

So I’m pleading with you, slow down & cherish the details of your life. Over the next few weeks, I’m going to share with you some of the practical ways that I have found of slowing down my life & enjoying the moments. I would love to hear from you about some of yours.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Rachel permalink
    August 28, 2010 12:23 pm

    I love this! We’ve been talking about slowing down a lot lately at our church, and are trying to figure out what that means for our own lives and our faith. I am also the one that feels like i need to be going-going-going and accomplishing all the time! i need to learn how to slow down a bit.

  2. August 29, 2010 11:59 am

    Thanks Rach. I loved that quote from Gibran. People like us sometimes make life about what we accomplish, which is great, but we often sacrifice the simple joys we could savor on the way to making progress towards a goal. It’s one thing that I’ve been realizing and trying to address ever since I met Jacki.

Leave a Reply

